Boots Botanics Ionic Clay Mask

Hello Gorgeous! Today I’m reviewing theΒ Boots Botanics Ionic Clay Mask. The dry winter weather has taken a toll on my skin and with the arrival of spring, I’m looking forward to milder temperatures and a little more moisture in the air. Come summer, I’m sure I’ll be complaining about the humidity but for now I’m saying, bring it on! Let’s dig in.

 

Boots Botanics Ionic Clay Mask Review

Botanics Ionic Clay Mask Review
Botanics Shine Away Ionic Clay Mask deep cleans and removes impurities.

 



Details and Directions
A weekly, unscented, mineral-rich clay mask that exhibits an electrical charge which helps draw out impurities without over-drying skin. The hypoallergenic formula absorbs excess oil and cleanses deeply. Apply a generous layer to cleansed skin avoiding the eye area and leave for 10 minutes. Rinse with warm water. Retails for $9.39.

 

Application
The product consistency is stable but slightly runny so dispense with care. The texture is a little grainy but not overly so. Once on my face, the product stayed put and it was easily layered so you don’t have to worry about getting enough on immediately. Working with a little at a time is best. I do suggest working quickly though because it dries with a swiftness. And when I say dry, it really dries to a hard, smooth mask. Don’t plan on doing much talking or smiling while you wait for the 10 minutes to go by.
Botanics Shine Away Ionic Clay Mask Review
Ionic Clay Mask immediately after application and 10 minutes later.
Β 
Β 
Β 
Results
First, a little about my skin. I have combination skin with dry-ish cheeks, an oily nose and normal-ish forehead and chin. (I know, that’s a lot.) The Botanics Ionic Clay Mask is recommended for use on normal skin and promises to not over-dry while removing impurities. Since the majority of my face is on the dry side, this mask would not be my go-to for deep cleansing. My face did appear brighter but my cheeks felt dry after use so I wouldn’t choose this as an all-over mask. I would, however, use it on my oily area to draw out impurities. I noticed fewer blackheads on my nose and the remaining ones were ripe for removal. Next time, I’ll probably use this on my nose before using a pore strip for thorough extraction.

 

Summary
PROS: Easy to apply, works quickly, rinses easily. Left my skin brighter and clearer. Good for spot treatments.
CONS: A little drying on my dry areas, works best on normal skin.

 

Have you tried the Boots Botanics Ionic Clay Mask? What did you think? Let me know in the comments or give me a shout on Twitter @patranila using #powerofplants.
The Boots Botanics Ionic Clay Mask was provided to me by Influenster for review. All opinions are my own.


RELATED POSTS
Review: Ahava Hydration Cream Mask
Review: Soft Summer Skin Year Round
Review: mainelement:love

Follow:

34 Comments

  1. 26 March 2014 / 3:31 AM

    Great review! Never tried it, but my face is quite dry as well, so it doesn't seem like it would benefit me.

    May from La Vie en May

    • 26 March 2014 / 12:38 PM

      I hear you. You should check out the Ahava Hydration Mask. I did a review on that one too and it is much better for dry-skin darlings!

    • 28 March 2014 / 12:32 AM

      Is your skin type normal or more on the dry side?

  2. 29 April 2014 / 6:29 AM

    I know clay can do wonders for your skin with all of the great earthy ingredients. This sounds like a must try – But I am also worried about the drying because my skin can tend to be dry in places.

    • 29 April 2014 / 2:33 PM

      I'm of the mind to mix masks these days because so many people have combination skin and find that one product doesn't work for all areas of their face.

  3. 29 April 2014 / 6:40 AM

    I'm more of a moisturizer person coz my skin has a tendency to be dry in summer as well as during the colder months. I'm not so much into clays … I used a clay skin care product and it looks like I'm allergic to it πŸ™

    • 29 April 2014 / 2:34 PM

      Sorry to hear about your allergic reaction. Finding the right product is such an arduous process.

  4. 29 April 2014 / 1:21 PM

    Oh I don't think we have that mask here in the Philippines. I love using organic products and those made out of herbs, particularly green ones. πŸ™‚

  5. 29 April 2014 / 3:01 PM

    My wife has been looking for things like this for our son.. I will pass it onto her.. thanks for the review!

  6. 29 April 2014 / 6:26 PM

    I have never heard of it before but it looks like a great mask.

  7. 30 April 2014 / 3:30 AM

    Sounds like a great beauty product! Glad that it worked for you.

  8. 30 April 2014 / 5:28 AM

    haven't tried this product yet and also not much fan of masks πŸ™‚

  9. 30 April 2014 / 9:31 AM

    I have normal skin, but my T region is way too oily. I tried the pack only on my T region. Worked for my Oily part of the face, really well.

    I read the comments before trying it πŸ˜€

  10. 30 April 2014 / 12:25 PM

    I've read your recent post and yeah this helps for my girlfriend's beauty tips. I've read to this post that it was mineral-rich? that could be have vitamins in it and good for the skin

  11. 30 April 2014 / 1:44 PM

    Great Review!!!! I have this Clay Mask and it's a little watery!

    • 1 May 2014 / 4:03 AM

      When I first opened it, it ran all over the place. I had to shake it to get a good consistency.

  12. 30 April 2014 / 5:40 PM

    I have the same skin type, dry on the checks and oily on the nose. The product looks effective.

  13. 30 April 2014 / 9:06 PM

    I don't have clay mask but I do know they are the most effective to use!

  14. 1 May 2014 / 2:25 AM

    I have this! I had the drying issue, too, so I only use it in specific spots now.

    • 1 May 2014 / 4:03 AM

      Yeah, that's my plan going forward. Only on my nose.

  15. 1 May 2014 / 2:47 AM

    What interested me the most was the step by step photography. That is helpful to know how it should look and how it works on others.

  16. 1 May 2014 / 2:58 AM

    Clay masks are my favourite. I also like the ones that heat up with water.

  17. 3 May 2014 / 12:59 PM

    I have few kinds of facial masks enjoying for my skin now and I have not try any clay mask yet and this might be my very first if I will be able to find it on beauty stores. You got a very nice review and instructional photos here.

  18. 19 February 2016 / 8:28 AM

    I really love this mask, but I have oily-combination skin (more on the oily side!). But I can never find it in my local boots and its soooo annoying

    • Patranila
      19 February 2016 / 12:28 PM

      That sucks. I’ve linked to an online retailer where it’s available if that helps you at all.

  19. Caroline
    28 October 2016 / 2:54 AM

    I bought this product at Target and I used it for the first time today and I had a horrible reaction to it! I’m 46 years old and I’ve never had an allergic reaction to anything. I go to spa have facials a couple times a year . Literally my face is bright red and itching. I’m trying to get in to see my dermatologist ASAP. I wouldn’t recommend this BOOTS Iconic Clay Mask. I would tell everyone to stay away from this terrible product

    • Patranila
      28 October 2016 / 10:18 AM

      Sorry to hear you had such a terrible reaction, Caroline. Sounds like there’s something you’re allergic to. Hope your dermatologist can get it sorted out quickly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *